Blue Light Boogie

Fri. at 9 P.M. and Sat. at 4 P.M.

"I got hooked on the blues the day I realized all of my favorite rock 'n' roll songs were really blues," says Art Hooker, host of YPR's Blue Light Boogie.

This two-hour program takes the listener from the blues' mighty traditions to its latest releases, with a bit of history and a lot of context from Art, who is also a musician with time logged in everything from polka bands to bar-burning boogie woogie combos.

Marco Nürnberger

Playlist #1846 Feb. 23, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Heavy Heart Blues”, Champion Jack Dupree, New Orleans Barrelhouse Boogie, Columbia/ Legacy Records

“Heavy Heart”, Selwyn Birchwood, Pick Your Poison, Alligator Records, http://www.selwynbirchwood.com http://www.alligator.com

Steve Snodgrass

Playlist #1845 Feb. 16, 2018

“Cupid Boogie”, Johnny Otis Orchestra, The R&B Box: 30 Years Of Rhythm And Blues (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.johnnyotisworld.com http://www.rhino.com

“Cupid”, Johnny Nash, The Reggae Collection, SME UK Limited

“Iron Cupid”, Earl King, Glazed, Black Top Records

michael.mu

Playlist #1844 Feb.9, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://wwwdelmark.com

“Big Chief”, Professor Longhair, Houseparty New Orleans Style, Rounder Records, http://www.rounder.com

“Mardi Gras In New Orleans” Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Live: Mardi Gras In Montreaux, Rounder Records, http://www.dirtydozenbrass.com http://www.rounder.com

Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist #1843 Feb. 2, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Black Wolf Blues”, Champion Jack Dupree, Classic Piano Blues (various artists), Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, http://www.folkways.si.edu

“Howling Wolf”, Muddy Waters, Muddy ‘Mississippi’ Waters Live, Blue Sky Records

Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist 1842 Jan. 26, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“All Around The World”, Little Richard, 22 Greatest Hits, Polygram Records

“Bottom Of The World”, Tom Waits, Orphans, Anti Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.anti.com

Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist #1841 Jan. 19, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Easy Come, Easy Go Blues”, Bessie Smith, The Complete Recordings vol. 1, Columbia/Legacy Recordings, http://www.bessiesmith.com http://www.legacyrecordings.com

Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist #1840 Jan. 12, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Midnight In A Madhouse”, Chick Webb And His Orchestra, Spinnin’ The Webb, GRP Records

“’Round Midnight”, Jeni Fleming Acoustic Trio, The Trinity Tour, Flick The Fly Productions, http://www.jenifleming.com

Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist #1839 Jan. 5, 2018

“blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“What A Party”, Fats Domino, They Call Me The Fat Man The Legendary Imperial Recordings (box set), EMI Records, http://www.fatsdominoofficial.com

“House Rockin’ Boogie #7”, Jason Elmore And Hoodoo Witch, Champagne Velvet, Dag Nab Music, http://www.jasonelmore.net

H.L. Tam

Playlist #1838 Dec. 29, 2017

“Soulful Dress”, Maria Muldaur, Steady Love, Stony Plain Records, http://www.mariamulduar.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Wang Dang Doodle”, Zora Young, The French Connection, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Party Train”, Lamont Cranston Band, Shakedown, Waterhouse Records, http://www.lamontcranston.com

Flickr Createive Commons

Playlist #1837 Dec. 22, 2017

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“What Do Bad Girls Get?”, Joan Osborne, Christmas Means Love, Womanly Hips Records, http://www.joanosborne.com

Pages