Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Government & Politics

Three Montana counties approve local taxes on recreational marijuana

Preliminary election results show voters in three Montana counties have approved local excise taxes on recreational marijuana.

Missoula, Park and Yellowstone counties each approved a 3% local tax on recreational marijuana.

The local option tax on recreational sales will be on top of a state mandated 20% tax.

Park and Yellowstone counties also appear to have approved a tax increase on medical marijuana; Missoula County narrowly rejected that increase.
Copyright 2021 Montana Public Radio. To see more, visit Montana Public Radio.