banner_winter.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

#2226 October 9th, 2021

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records

“I Don’t Know Why”, Hoagy Carmichael, In Person ARA Recordings, Avid Entertainment, http://www.hoagy.com

“I Don’t Know Why”, Charlie Owen, Worth The Wait, self release

“I Don’t Know Why”, ‘Mighty’ Mike Schermer, Right Hand Man, Fine Dog Records, http://www.mighty-mike.com

“Why Why Why”, Levee Town, Levee Town, self release, http://www.leveetown.com

“Why Don’t You Come Home Blues”, Furry Lewis, In His Prime 1927-1928, Yazoo Records, http://www.furrylewis.com

“Why Don’t You Haul Off And Love Me”, Bullmoose Jackson And His Buffalo Bearcats, Blues Masters vol. 5 Jump Blues Classics (various aritsts), Rhino Records,

“Why Don’t We Do It In The Road?”, Jimmy Thackery And The Drivers, The Blue White Album (various aritsts), Telarc Records, http://www.jimmythackery.com

“Tell Me Why”, The Beatles, A Hard Day’s Night, EMI Records, http://www.thebeatles.com

“Tell Me Why”, JC Crossfire, When It Comes To The Blues, Bluezpik

“Tell Me Why”, Fabulous Thunderbirds, Butt Rockin’, Chrysalis Records, http://www.fabulousthunderbirds.com

“Ask Me Why”, The Beatles, Please Please Me, EMI Records, http://www.thebeatles.com

“Why You Wanna Hurt My Heart?”, Neville Brothers, Neville-ization, Demon Records, http://www.nevilles.com

“Why Why Baby”, The Nighthawks, Trouble, Powerhouse Records, http://www.thenighthawks.com

“Why Don’t You Do Right”, The Johnny Otis Show, The Johnny Otis Show, Alligator Records, http://www.johnnyotisworld.com

“Why Did You Have To Desert Me?”, Taj Mahal, Mo’Roots, Columbia Records,

“Why Was I Born”, Billie Holiday, The Quintessential Billie Holiday vol. 3 1936-1937, Columbia Records, http://www.billieholiday.com

“That’s Why I Don’t Mind”, Muddy Waters, Chess Blues (various aritsts), MCA/Chess Records

“Why Should I Be Blue”, Walter Davis, Cripple Clarence Lofton and Walter Davis, Yazoo Records

“Why Me”, Ruth Brown, The Definitive Soul Collection, Rhino Records, http://www.ruthbrown.net

“Why I Sing The Blues”, Linsey Alexander, Two Cats, Delmark Records, http://www.linseyalexander.com

“Why Does Everything Happen To Me”, Mannish Boys, Double Dynamite, Delta Groove Music

“Why I Sing The Blues”, Sharon Lewis And Texas Fire, Grown Ass Woman, Delmark Records

“Why We Love Each Other”, Les Copeland, To Be In Your Company, Earwig Music Company

“I Don’t Know Why I Love You”, Hoyt Axton, Snowblind Friend, MCA Records, http://www.hoytsmusic.com

“Why Can’t You Love Me”, Paul Delay Band, The Other One, Criminal Records, http://www.pauldelay.com

“Why Do Fools Fall In Love”, Joni Mitchell, Shadows And Light, A&M Records, http://www.jonimitchell.com

“Why Water A Dead Rose”, Bobby Messano, Bad Movie, self release,

“Why Get Up”, Fabulous Thunderbirds, Hot Stuff The Greatest Hits, Epic Records, http://www.fabulousthunderbirds.com

“Why Should She Wait”, Marc Broussard, Keep Coming Back, Atlantic Records, http://www.marcbroussard.com

“Why Come”, Dr. John, Anutha Zone, Pointblank Records,

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.