banner_winter.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

#2229 October 30, 2021

“Haunted House Blues”, Bessie Smith, The Complete Recordings vol. 1, Columbia/ Legacy Recordings, http://www.legacyrecordings.com

“Ghost Of Yesterday”, Billie Holiday, Blue Billie, Columbia/ Legacy Recordings, http://www.billieholiday.com http://www.legacyrecordings.com

“Ghosts Of Saturday Night”, Tom Waits, The Heart Of Saturday Night, Asylum Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

“Ghost Of The Saint Louis Blues”, Leon Redbone, Sugar, Private Music, http://www.leonredbone.com

“Black Ghost”, Smoky Babe, Louisiana Country Blues (with Herman E. Johnson), Arhoolie Records. http://www.folkways.si.edu/arhoolie

“Ghost Riders In The Sky”, Blues Brothers 2000, Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Universal Records, http://www.bluesbrothersofficialsite.com

“Season Of The Witch”, Dr. John, Blues Brothers 2000 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Universal Records, http://www.nitetripper.com http://www.bluesbrothersofficialsite.com

“Witch Doctor”, Spencer Bohren, Solitaire, Valve Records, http://www.spencerbohren.com

“Swamp Witch”, Les Copeland, To Be In Your Company, Earwig Records, http://www.lescopeland.com http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Casting My Spell”, Coco Montoya, Suspicion, Alligator Records, http://www.cocomontoyaband.com http://www.alligator.com

“I Put A Spell On You (dance version)”, ‘Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, Black Music For White People, Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“The Real Thing”, Audra Mae And The Almighty Sound, Audra Mae And The Almighty Sound, INGrooves, http://www.audramaemusic.com

“I Put A Hex On You”, Candye Kane, Superhero, Delta Groove Music, http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“She Put A Spell On Me”, Roomful Of Blues, Standing Room Only, Alligator Records, http://www.roomful.com http://www.alligator.com

“She’s Got A Spell On Me”, Jody Williams, You Left Me In The Dark, Evidence Records

“Voodoo Queen”, Mick Martin And The Blues Rockers, Blues Rock, U.S.A., Blues Rock Records, http://www.micksbluesrockers.com

“Voodoo Queen”, Terry Quiett Band, Taking Sides, Lucky Bag Records, http://www.terryquiettband.com

“Voodoo Queen”, Otis Clay and Johnny Rawls, Soul Brothers, Catfood Records, http://www.otisclay.net http://www.johnnyrawlsblues.com http://www.catfoodrecords.com

“Voodoo Doll”, Hamilton Loomis All Fired Up, Ham-Bone Music, http://www.hamiltonloomis.com

“Voodoo Doll”, Gaetano Letizia And The Underworld Blues Band, Voodoo Doll, self release, http://www.gaetanoletizia.com

“Voodoo Doll”, Teresa James And The Rhythm Tramps, Come On Home, Jasi-Lu Records, http://www.teresajames.com

“Voodoo Woman”, Ana Popovic, Unconditional, Eclecto Groove Records, http://www.anapopovic.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Voodoo Man”, Henry Butler, Vu-Du Menz (with Corey Harris), Alligator Records, http://www.henrybutler.com http://www.alligator.com

“Voodoo Woman, Voodoo Man”, Dave Riley and Bob Corritore, Travelin’ The Dirt Road, Blue Witch Records, http://www.bobcorritore.com

“Voodoo Mama”, Kenny Neal, Hooked On Your Love, Blind Pig Records, http://www.kennyneal.net http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Voodoo Daddy”, Melvin Taylor, Play The Blues For You, Evidence Records, http://www.melvintaylormusic.com

“Voodoo Child”, Angelique Kidjo, Lightning In A Bottle (various artists), Columbia/ Legacy Records, http://www.kidjo.com

“Too Much Voodoo”, Kevin Selfe, Long Walk Home, Delta Groove Music, http://www.kevinselfe.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.