Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

CSKT elects a new chairperson and council member

Josh Burnham
Montana Public Radio

Members of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes voted out their chairwoman and another council member during a recent election.

Chairwoman Shelly Fyant lost to challenger Jim Malatare by more than 30 points. Incumbent council member Charmel Gillin lost her post to Jennifer Finley by more than 40 points.

Of the five seats up for election, two incumbents, Len Twoteeth and Carole Lankford, won reelection. Newcomer Tom McDonald beat Dan DePoe for an at-large council seat.

The CSKT tribal council is made up of 10 members. The remaining five council members are up for reelection next year.

CSKT said in a news release that voter turnout increased about six points from the previous general election held in 2019.

Copyright 2022 Montana Public Radio. To see more, visit Montana Public Radio.

Freddy Monares
Freddy Monares is a reporter and Morning Edition host at Montana Public Radio. He previously worked for the Bozeman Daily Chronicle, covered the 2017 Legislature for UM Legislative News Service and interned with the station as a student. He graduated from the University of Montana School of Journalism in 2017.