Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Montana's Three Electoral College Votes Go To Trump

Montana Public Affairs Network
Montana's presidential electors Thelma Baker of Missoula, Becky Stockton of Helena and State Rep. Brad Tschida (R-Missoula) cast electoral college votes in Helena on Dec. 14, 2020.

Montana’s three electoral college votes Monday went to President Donald Trump, in line with the state popular vote.

State Representative of Missoula Republican Brad Tschida chaired Montana’s electors.

"Montana's choice for president is Donald J. Trump and for vice president it is Michael R. Pence," Tschida said.

Becky Stockton of Helena and Thelma Baker of Missoula cast electoral votes alongside Tschida. Stockton and Baker were also electors in 2016.

The three were chosen by members of the Montana Republican State Central Committee during the party’s June convention.

Unlike 2016, Sec. of State Corey Stapleton did not give time for public comment during the electoral college meeting in the statehouse.

The results will be sent to Washington and tallied in a Jan. 6 joint session of Congress.

Trump won Montana with 57 percent of the vote to President elect Joe Biden’s 41 percent.

Nationally, Biden cleared the 270 vote threshold on Dec. 14, affirming Biden will be the nation's next president.