spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Big, Beef, Pork, Poultry, Barns

Playlist #1320 Saturday Sep. 1, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Canned Heat Blues”, Tommy Johnson, Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order (1928-1929), Document Records, http://www.document-records.com

“Lonesome Home Blues”, Tommy Johnson, Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order (1928-1929), Document Records, http://www.document-records.com

“Big Fat Mama”, Tommy Johnson, Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order (1928-1929), Document Records, http://www.document-records.com

“Big Leg Blues”, Mississippi John Hurt, 1928 Sessions, Yazoo Records

“Big Legged Woman”, Jerry Lee Lewis, Greatest Hits, Rhino Reccords, http://www.jerryleelewis.com http://www.rhino.com

“Big Legged Mommas Are Back In Style”, Taj Mahal, Like Never Before, Private Music, http://www.tajblues.com

“Big Fat Mamas Are Back In Style”, Candye Kane, White Trash Girl, RUF Records, http://www.rufrecords.de

“Big Man Mambo”, Robert Lucas, Luke And The Locomotives, Audio Quest Records

“It Isn’t Easy Being Big”, Paul Delay Band, Heavy Rotation, Evidence Records, http://www.pauldelay.com

“Three Hundred Pounds Of Hungry”, Marcia Ball, So Many Rivers, Alligator Records, http://www.marciaball.com http://www.alligator.com

“300 Pounds Of Heavenly Joy”, Big Twist And The Mellow Fellows, Playing For Keeps, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Big Bad Bill”, Leon Redbone, Champagne Charlie, Warner Brothers Records, http://www.leonredbone.com http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

“Bad Boy”, Magic Slim And The Teardrops, Bad Boy, Blind Pig Records, http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Bad Boy’s Heaven”, Sugar Blue, Raw Sugar Blue, Beeble Music, http://www.sugar-blue.com http://www.beeblemusic.com

“Milkcow’s Calf Blues”, Robert Johnson, The Complete Recordings, Columbia Records, http://www.robertjohnsonbluesfoundation.org http://www.columbiarecords.com

“Bull Cow Blues”, Big Bill Broonzy, Unissued Test Pressings, Milan America, http://www.broonzy.com

“Callin’ All Cows”, Elvin Bishop, Raisin’ Hell Revue, Delta Groove Music, http://www.elvinbishopmusic.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Eat Steak”, Rev. Horton Heat, Smoke ‘Em If You Got ‘Em, Sub Pop Records, http://www.reverendhortonheat.com http://www.subpop.com

“Slow-Cooked Pig Meat”, Memphis Sheiks, Slow-Cooked Pig Meat, Inside Sounds, http://www.insidesounds.com

“Filipino Box Spring Hog”, Tom Waits, Mule Variations, Anti Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.anti.com

“I’m A Hog For You”, Clifton Chenier, Anthology, Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Chicken Dance”, Little Freddie King, You Don’t Know What I Know, Fat Possum Records, http://www.fatpossum.com

“Chicken Lady”, Nouveaux Honkies, Where Do I Go, Whirled Around Records, http://www.tnhband.com

“Chicken , Gravy And Biscuits”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Chicken, Gravy And Biscuits, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Burnin’ The Chicken”, Los Fabulocos, Los Fabulocos, Delta Groove Music, http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Barnyard Boogie”, Louis Jordan, Best Of Louis Jordan, MCA Records

“Barnyard Pimp”, Cash Box Kings, Holler And Stomp, Blind Pig Records, http://www.cashboxkings.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Murder In The Red Barn”, Tom Waits, Bone Machine, Island Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.