spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Cadillacs, Money, Bugs, Lips

Playlist #1325 Saturday Oct. 6, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Cadillac Boogie”, Jimmy Liggins, Blues Masters vol. 5: Jump Blues Classics (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Cadillac”, Bo Diddley, Bo Diddley Is A Gunslinger, MCA/Chess Records, http://www.bodiddley.com

“Courtin’ In A Cadillac”, Cob Koda, Welcome To My Job, Blue Wave Records, http://www.cubkoda.com http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“Cadillac Woman”, Kingsnakes, Snakes Alive, Blue Wave Records, http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“Fine Cadillac”, The Bluesmasters feat. Cassie Taylor, The Bluesmasters vol. 2, Direct Music Distribution, http://www.cassietaylro.bandcamp.com

“Red Cadillac”, Bopcats, 25 Years Of Rock ‘n Roll, Eller Soul Records, http://www.bopcats.com http://www.ellersoulrecords.com

“Long White Cadillac”, The Blasters, Non Fiction, Slash Records, http://www.theblasters.com

“Black Cadillac”, Soup, The Album Soup, Big Tree Records

“Cadillac Assembly Line”, Melvin Taylor And The Slack Band, Plays The Blues For You, Evidence Records, http://www.melvintaylormusic.com

“Back In A Cadillac”, Coco Montoya, Can’t Look Back, Alligator Records, http://www.cocomontoyaband.com http://www.alligator.com

“I Need Money”, Hans Theessink and Terry Evans, Delta Time, Blue Groove, http://www.theessink.com/en

“Cold Hard Cash”, Li’l Ronnie And The Grand Dukes, Gotta Strange Feeling, Eller Soul Records, http://www.ellersoulrecords.com

“Need $100”, Guitar Mikey And The Real Thing, Out Of The Box, Earwig Records, http://www.guitarmikey.com http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Funny Money”, Levee Town, Pages Of Paperwork, self release, http://www.leveetown.com

“Green Power”, Ian Siegal And The Mississippi Mudbloods, Candy Store Kid, Nugene Recordws, http://www.iansiegal.com http://www.nugenerecords.com

“Little Bug”, Big Bill Broonzy, Unissued Test Pressings, Milan America, http://www.broonzy.com

“Hey Bartender, There’s A Big Bug In My Beer”, Warner Williams, Blues Highway, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, http://www.littlebi.website2go.com http://www.folkways.si.edu

“Crackin’ Up”, Corey Harris, Hey! Bo Diddley-A Tribute, Evidence Records, http://www.corey-harris.com

“You Coulda Let Me Go”, Terry Hanck, Look Out!, Delta Groove Music, http://www.terryhanck.net http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Kick Me To The Curb”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Jump Start, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“She Did Not Show”, John Nemeth, Blues Live, Nemeth Music, http://www.johnnemeth.com

“The Lip”, Louis Prima with Keely Smith, Collector’s Series, Capitol Records, http://www.capitolrecords.com

“Lip Service”, Liz Mandeville Greeson, Back In Love Again, Earwig Records, http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Lip Service And Lies”, Sugar Blue, Raw Sugar, Beeble Music, http://www.sugar-blue.com http://www.beeblemusic.com

“Lipstick And Chrome”, Davina And The Vagabonds, Black Cloud, self release, http://www.davinaandthevagabonds.com

“Lipstick Traces”, Delbert McClinton, Live From Austin, Alligator Records, http://www.delbert.com http://www.alligator.com

“Standing On Shaky Ground”, Delbert McClinton, Live From Austin, Alligator Records, http://www.delbert.com http://www.alligator.com

“Mercy, Mercy, Mercy”, Herbie Mann, Deep Pocket, Kokopelli Records

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.