spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Food

Playlist #1332 Saturday Nov. 24, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Eggs And Sausage”, Tom Waits, Nighthawks At The Diner, Asylum Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

“Cooking Breakfast For The One I Love”, Maria Muldaur, Sweet And Slow, Stony Plain Records, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Breakfast In Bed”, Mare Edstrom Blues Band, Sugar Sweet, Spiritone Records, http://www.spiritonerecords.com

“Greasy Greens”, Pink Anderson, Gospel, Blues And Street Songs, Original Blues Classics

“Greens Back In The Day”, Corey Harris, Greens From The Garden, Alligator Records, http://www.coreyharrisband.com http://www.alligator.com

“Your Greens Give Me The Blues”, Rev. Billy C. Wirtz, Deep Fried And Sanctified, Hightone Records, http://www.revbillycwirtz.com

“Onion Eatin’ Mama”, Cliff Carlisle, Roots n’ Blues The Retrospective, Columbia/Legacy Records

“Eatin’ Dry Onions”, Willie Cobb, Down To Earth, Rooster Blues Records, http://www.roosterblues.com

“Green Onions”, Al Kooper, Black Coffee, self release, http://www.alkooper.com

“Diggin’ My Potatoes”, Buddy Guy and Jr. Wells, Alone And Acoustic, Alligator Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.alligator.com

“Tater Diggin’ Woman”, Albert Bashor, Cotton Field Of Dreams, Earwig Records, http://www.albertbashor.com http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Mama’s Fried Potatoes”, Rev. Peyton’s Big Damn Band, The Whole Fam Damily, Side One Dummy Records, http://www.bigdamnband.com http://www.sideonedummy.com

“Do Fries Come With That Shake?”, Chris Thomas King, The Legend Of Tommy Johnson, 21st Century Blues Records, http://www.christhomasking.com

“Tater Pie”, Tom Ball and Kenny Sultan, Filthy Rich, Flying Fish Records, http://www.tomballkennysultan.com

“Sweet Potatoe Pie”, Liz Mandeville, Clarksdale, Blue Kitty Music, http://www.lizmandeville.com

“Your Biscuits Are Big Enough For Me”, Bo Carter, Greatest Hits 1930-1940, Yazoo Records

“Good Biscuits”, Memphis Minnie, Hoodoo Lady 1933-1937, Columbia/Legacy Records, http://www.memphisminnie.com

“Burnt Biscuits”, Triumphs, The Complete Stax/ Volt Singles 1959-1968 (various artists), Atlantic Records, http://www.atlanticrecords.com

“The Biscuit Is Back”, R.J. Mischo, Make It Good, Delta Groove Music, http://www.rjblues.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Cathead Biscuit Gospel”, Sauce Boss, Live At The Green Parrot, Burning Disk, http://www.sauceboss.com

“Biscuits And Gravy”, Rose City Kings, Rose City Kings Live: Holler Out For More, self release, http://www.rosecitykings.com
“Chicken, Gravy And Biscuits”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Chicken, Gravy And Biscuits, Alligator Records, http://www.liledblues.com http://www.alligator.com

“Butter My Biscuits”, Biscuit Miller, Blues With A Smile, BlueBass Entertainment, http://www.biscuitmiller.com

“Rubber Biscuit”, Blues Brothers, Briefcase Full Of Blues, Atlantic Records, http://www.bluesbrothersofficialsite.com http://www.atlanticrecords.com

“Shafafa”, Bob Brozman, Post Industrial Blues, RUF Records, http://www.bobbrozman.com http://www.rufrecords.de

“The Last Meal”, Johnny Nicholas And The Texas All-Stars, Rockin’ My Blues To Sleep, Hill Top Records, http://www.johnnynicholasblues.com

“Food Chain Of Fools”, Rev. Billy C. Wirtz, A Turn For The Wirtz Confessions Of A Hillbilly Love God, Hightone Records, http://www.revbillycwirtz.com

“Oreo Cookie Blues”, Lonnie Mack, Strike Like Lightning, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Cakewalk Into Town”, Taj Mahal, Like Never Before, Private Music, http://www.tajblues.com

“Pie In The Sky”, Shemekia Copeland, Talking To Strangers, Alligator Records, http://www.shemekiacopeland.com http://www.alligator.com

“Ice Cream”, Eddie Martin, Ice Cream, Blueblood Records, http://www.eddiemartin.com http://www.bluebloodrecords.com

“Ice Cream Man”, Tom Waits, Downtown Blues, Big Music, http://www.tomwaits.com

“I Want Candy”, The Strangeloves, Grandson Of Frat Rock (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.