spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Ho Ho Ho!

Playlist #1334 Saturday Dec. 8, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“May Everyday Be Christmas”, Louis Jordan, Blue, Blues Christmas (various artists), Laserlight Records

“Cool Yule”, Louis Armstrong And The Commanders, Yule B’ Swingin’ (various artists), Hip-O Records, http://www.louisarmstronghouse.org

“Shake Hands With Santa Claus”, Louis Prima with Keely Smith, Yulesville (various artists), Shout Factory, http://www.louisprima.com http://www.shoutfactory.com

“Santa, Let Me Call You A Cab”, Alex McMurray, A Very Threadhead Holiday (various artists), Threadhead Records, http://www.alexmcmurray.com

“Santa’s Drunk”, Fathead, Santa’s Got Mojo 2 (various artists), Electro-Fi Records, http://www.electrofi.com

“Santa Got High For Christmas”, Glen David Andrews, A Very Threadhead Holiday (various artists), Threadhead Records, http://www.glendavidandrewsband.com

“Last Night (I Went Out With Santa Claus)”, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Everything You Want For Christmas, Big Bad Records, http://www.bbvd.com

“Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”, Joseph Spence, Must Be Santa (various artists), Rounder Records, http://www.rounder.com

“Is This Gonna Last?”, Kristi Johnston, Stony Plain’s Christmas Blues (various artists), Stony Plain Records, http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“My Christmas Tree Is Hung With Tears”, Sarah Brown, An Austin Rhythm And Blues Christmas (various artists), Epic Records, http://www/epicrecords.com

“Under My Tree”, Ronnie D with Kim Lembo, Here Comes Another Christmas (various artists), Blue Wave Records, http://www.kimlembomusic.com http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“Christmas Just For Me”, Sandra Hall, Ichiban Blues At Christmas vol. 4 (various artists), Ichiban Records

“Christmas In Paradise”, Mike Morgan And The Crawl, Blues, Mistletoe, And Santa’s Little Helper (various artists), Black Top Records, http://www.mikemorganandthecrawl.com

“Christmas Island”, Leon Redbone, Christmas Island, August Records, http://www/leonredbone.com

“Christmas At The Oasis”, Maria Muldaur, Christmas At The Oasis, Global Recording Artists, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.gragroup.com

“Toys For Tots”, Nancy Wilson, Peggy Lee and Nat King Cole, Christmas Cocktails vol. 1 (various artists), Ultralounge Records, http://www.peggylee.com http://www.natkingcole.com

“Christmas Blues”, Maria Muldaur, Stony Plain’s Christmas Blues (various artists), Stony Plain Records, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“It’s Christmas Time Again (Spend, Spend, Spend)”, Little Charlie And The Nightcats, Genuine Houserockin’ Christmas (various artists), Alligator Records, http://www.rickestrin.com http://www.alligator.com

“Oh, Saint Nick”, Christmas Jug Band, On The Holiday Highway, Globe Records, http://www.christmasjugband.com http://www.globerecords.com

“What Do You Really Want For Christmas?”, The Rockin’ Highliners, Stony Plain’s Christmas Blues (various artists), Stony Plain Records, http://www.rockinhighliners.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Santa, I Want A Stratocaster”, The Excellos, Ichiban Blues At Christmas vol. 4 (various artists), Ichiban Records

“(I Want A) Rock And Roll Guitar”, Johnny Preston, The Best Of Cool Yule (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“All I Ask For Christmas”, Mighty Blue Kings, The Christmas Album, R-Jay Records

“Got To Get You Under My Tree”, Sonny Landreth, Christmas Gumbo (various artists), Flambeau Records, http://www.sonnylandreth.com

“Wrap Yourself In A Christmas Package”, Randy Greer and Ignasi Terraza Trio, A Jazz And Blues Christmas (various artists), Putumayo Records, http://www.ignasiterraza.com http://www/putumayo.com

“Give Me What I Want For Christmas”, Duke Tumatoe, It’s Christmas (Let’s Have Sex), Tumatoe Tuff Tunes, http://www.duketumatoe.com

“Santa Claus Wants Some Lovin’”, Little Elmo And The Mambo Kings, Happy Holidays, self release, http://www.mambokings.com

“Santa Got A Choo Choo”, Dan Hicks And The Hot Licks, Crazy For Christmas, Surfdog Records, http://www.danhicks.net  http://www.surfdog.com

“Santa Drives A Hot Rod”, Brian Setzer Orchestra, Dig That Crazy Christmas, Surfdog Records, http://www.briansetzer.com http://www.surfdog.com

“Pimp My Sleigh”, Houseman (from Galactic), Christmas Gumbo (various artists), Flambeau Records

“Christmas Train”, Carey Bell, Genuine Houserockin’ Christmas (various artists), Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.