spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Santa's Day Off

Playlist #1935 Friday Dec. 7, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“8 Days Of Hanukkah”, Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings, It’s A Holiday Soul Party, Daptone Records, http://www.sharonjonesandthedapkings.com http://www.daptonerecords.com

“Mele Kalikimaka”, Jimmy Buffett, Christmas Island, MCA Records, http://www.margaritaville.com

“Mutoto Kwanza”, Angelique Kidjo, Oyaya!, Columbia Records, http://www.kidjo.com http://www.columbiarecords.com

“Cool Yule”, Louis Armstrong, Have Yourself A Swingin’ Little Christmas (various artists), Bear Family Productions, http://www.louisarmstronghouse.org http://www.bear-family.com

“Santa Claus, Santa Claus”, Louis Jordan, Blue Yule (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“What Will Santa Claus Say (When He Finds Everybody Swingin’)”, Louis Prima, Have Yourself A Swingin’ Little Christmas (various artists), Bear Family Productions, http://www.louisprima.com http://www.bear-family.com

“Doing The Santa Claus”, Huey ‘Piano’ Smith And The Clowns, ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas, Ace Records, http://www.acerecords.co.uk

“Sleighbell Rock”, Chuck Blevins, Blues, Blues Christmas vol. 4 1925-1962 (various artists), Document Records, http://www.document-records.com

“Christmas Conga”, Cyndi Lauper, Feels Like Christmas, Sony Music Special Products, http://www.cyndilauper.com

“Holiday Twist”, Los Straitjackets, Oh Santa! (various artists), Yep Roc Records, http://www.straitjackets.com http://www.yeproc.com

“Fat Santa”, Fruteland Jackson, Santa’s Got Mojo 2 (various artists), Electro-Fi Records, http://www.fruteland.com http://www.electrofi.com

“At The Christmas Ball”, Maria Muldaur, Christmas At The Oasis, Global Recording Artists, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.gragroup.com

“Who Spiked The Egg Nog?”, Straight No Chaser, Christmas Cheers, Atlantic Records, http://www.sncmusic.com http://www.atlanticrecrods.com

“Christmas In The Bottle”, Christmas Jug Band, On The Holiday Highway, Globe Records, http://www.christmasjugband.com http://www.globerecords.com

“Drunk This Christmas”, Paul Sanchez, A Very Threadhead Holiday (various artists), Threadhead Records, http://www.paulsanchez.com

“Is This Gonna Last?”, Kristi Johnston, Stony Plain’s Christmas Blues (various artists), Stony Plain Records, http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Christmas (Ain’t Like It Used To Be)”, Joe Whiting and Loren Barrigar, Here Comes Another Christmas (various artists), Blue Wave Records, http://www.joewhitingmusic.com http://www.lorenandmike.com http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“Under My Tree”, Ronnie D with Kim Lembo, Here Comes Another Christmas (various aritsts), Blue Wave Records, http://www.kimlembomusic.com http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“I’ll Be Blue Without You”, Dave Clo and Shane McConnill, Blues For A Cure (various artists), A Christmas To Cure Cancer, http://www.bluesforacure.org

“Blue Christmas”, Collective Soul, So This Is Christmas (various artists), Atlantic Records, http://www.collectivesoul.com http://www.atlanticrecords.com

“Give Me The Blues For Christmas”, Dr. Duke Tumatoe, It’s Christmas! (Let’s Have Sex), Tumatoe Tuff Tunes, http://www.duketumatoe.com

“Fattening Up The Turkey”, Dave Hole, Genuine Houserockin’ Christmas (various artists), Alligator Records, http://www.davehole.com http://www.alligator.com

“Christmas In Paradise”, Mike Morgan And The Crawl, Blues, Mistletoe, And Santa’s Little Helper (various artists), Black Top Records, http://www.mikemorganandthecrawl.com

“Christmas Island”, Leon Redbone, Christmas Island, August Records, http://www.leonredbone.com

Chistmas At The Oasis”, Maria Muldaur, Christmas At The Oasis, Global Recording Artists, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.gragroup.com

“Santa’s Hideaway”, The Colbys, Christmas Gumbo, self release, http://www.thecolbysband.com

“Ho Ho Ho And A Bottle Of Rhum”, Jimmy Buffett, Christmas Island, MCA Records, http://www.margaritaville.com

“Last Night (I Went Out With Santa Claus)”, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Everything You Want For Christmas, Big Bad Records, http://www.bbvd.com

“Santa, Let Me Call You A Cab”, Alex McMurray, A Very Threadhead Holiday (various artists), Threadhead Records, http://www.alexmcmurray.com

“Santa’s Drunk”, Fathead, Santa’s Got Mojo 2 (various artists), Electro-Fi Records, http://www.electrofi.com

“Santa Got High For Christmas”, Glen David Andrews, A Very Threadhead Holiday (various aritsts), Threadhead Records, http://www.glendavidandrewsband.com

“Santa’s Messin’ With The Kid”, The Delta Sheiks, Blues For A Cure (various artists), A Christmas To Cure Cancer, http://www.bluesforacure.org

“Sandy Claw Stole My Woman”, Bobby Parker, Blues, Mistletoe, And Santa’s Little Helper (various artists), Black Top Records

“Back Door Santa”, Popa Chubby, Blues Christmas (various artists), Cleopatra Records, http://www.popachubby.com http://www.cleorecs.com

“Look Out! It’s Santa!”, Dr. Duke Tumatoe, It’s Christmas (Lets’s Have Sex), Tumatoe Tuff Tunes, http://www.duketumatoe.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.