spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Good Eatin'

Playlist #1433 Friday Nov. 23, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Eggs And Sausage”, Tom Waits, Nighthawks At The Diner, Asylum Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

“Cooking Breakfast For The One I Love”, Maria Muldaur, Sweet And Slow, Stony Plain Records, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Breakfast In Bed”, Mare Edstrom Blues Band, Sugar Sweet, Spiritone Records, http://www.spiritonerecords.com

“Greasy Greens”, Pink Anderson, Gospel, Blues And Street Songs, Original Blues Classics

“Good Old Cabbage Greens”, Washboard Sam, Rockin’ My Blues Away, RCA Records, http://www.rcarecords.com

“Greens Back In The Day”, Corey Harris, Greens From The Garden, Alligator Records, http://www.coreyharrisband.com http://www.alligator.com

“Your Greens Give Me The Blues”, Rev. Billy C. Wirtz, Deep Fried And Sanctified, Hightone Records, http://www.revbillycwirtz.com

“Onion Eating Mama”, Cliff Carlisle, Roots N’ Blues The Retrospective 1925-1950, Columbia/ Legacy Records

“Eatin’ Dry Onions”, Willie Cobb, Down To Earth, Rooster Blues Records, http://www.roosterblues.com

“Green Onions”, All Kooper, Black Coffee, self release, http://www.alkooper.com

“Diggin’ My Potatoes”, Peter Chatman (Memphis Slim), Good Time Blues (various artists), Columbia/ Legacy Records

“Tater Diggin’ Woman”, Albert Bashor, Cotton Field Of Dreams, Earwig Records, http://www.albertbashor.com http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Mama’s Fried Potatoes”, Rev. Peyton’s Big Damn Band. The Whole Fam Damily, Side One Dummy Records, http://www.bigdamnband.com http://www.sideonedummy.com

“Pigmeat Is What I Crave”, Bo Carter, Legends Of The Blues vol. 1 (various artists), Columbia/ Legacy Records

“Slow Cooked Pig Meat”, Memphis Sheiks, Slow-Cooked Pig Meat, Inside Sounds, http://www.insidesounds.com

“Filipino Box Spring Hog”, Tom Waits, Mule Variations, Anti Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.anti.com

“Eat Steak”, Rev. Horton Heat, Smoke ‘Em If You Got ‘Em, Sub Pop Records, http://www.reverendhortonheat.com http://www.subpop.com

“Hamburger Midnight”, Little Feat, Little Feat, Warner Brothers Records, http://www.littlefeat.net http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

“Icicles In My Meatloaf”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Rattleshake, Alligator Records, http://www.liledblues.com http://www.alligator.com

“T-Bones That Way”, T-Bone Walker, Stormy Monday, Instant Records

“Good Biscuits”, Memphis Minnie, Hoodoo Lady 1933-1937, Columbia/ Legacy Records, http://www.memphisminnie.com

“Biscuits And Gravy”, Rose City Kings, Holler Out For More, self release, http://www.rosecitykings.com

“Butter My Biscuits”, Biscuit Miller, Blues With A Smile, Bluebass Entertainment, http://www.biscuitmiller.com

“Shafaga”, Bob Brozman, Post-Industrial Blues, RUF Records, http://www.bobbrozman.com http://www.rufrecords.de

“My Last Meal”, Tom Ball and Kenny Sultan, Filthy Rich, Flying Fish Records, http://www.tomballkennysultan.com

“Feast Of The Mau Mau”, ‘Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, Voodoo Jive: The Best Of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Papa Wants A Cookie”, Leroy Carr and Scrapper Blackwell, Naptown Blues 1929-1934, Yazoo Records

“Oreo Cookie Blues”, Lonnie Mack, Strike Like Lightning, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com
“Ice Cream”, Eddie Martin, Ice Cream, Blueblood Records, http://www.eddiemartin.com http://www.bluebloodrecords.com

“Ice Cream Man”, Tom Waits, Closing Time, Elektra Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.elektramusicgroup.com

“Eat Me…I’m A Turkey”, Duke Tumatoe, It’s Christmas (Let’s Have Sex), Tumatoe Tuff Tunes, http://www.duketumatoe.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.