spring_banner.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blue Light Boogie: Hot and Cold Christmas

Playlist #1934 Friday Nov. 30, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1 (various artists), Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight”, Mississippi John Hurt, The Complete Studio Recordings, Vanguard Records, http://www.mississippijohnhurtfoundation.org http://www.vanguardrecords.com

“Hotshot”, Nikki Hill, Heavy Hearts, Hard Fists, Deep Fryed Records, http://www.nikkihillrocks.com

“Hot And Cold Woman”, Gaetano Letizia And The Underworld Blues Rock Band, Resurrection, self release, http://www.gaetanoletizia.com

“This Cat’s On A Hot Tin Roof”, Brian Setzer Orchestra, The Ultimate Collection Recorded Live, Surfdog Records, http://www.briansetzer.com http://www.surfdog.com

“Hot Fun In The Summertime”, Deanna Bogart, Just A Wish Away…, Blind Pig Records, http://www.deannabogart.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Warm It Up To Me”, Blind Willie McTell, The Early Years ’27-’33, Yazoo Records, http://www.blindwillie.com http://www.shanachie.com/genres/yazoo

“Nice And Warm”, Tab Benoit, Nice And Warm, Justice Records, http://www.tabbenoit.com

“Warm Beer And Cold Women”, Tom Waits, Nighthawks At The Diner, Elektra Asylum Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

“Warmer Days”, Blues Traveler, Blues Traveler, A&M Records, http://www.bluestraveler.com

“Don’t Lose Your Cool”, Albert Collins, Don’t Lose Your Cool, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Stiletto Cool”, Brian Setzer, Rockabilly Riot!, Surfdog Records, http://www.briansetzer.com http://www.surfdog.com

“Coolest Fools”, Delta Moon, Cabbagetown, Jumping Jack Records, http://www.deltamoon.com

“…But I Was Cool!”, Albert Collings, Don’t Lose Your Cool, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Cold Sweat”, The Mannish Boys, Double Dynamite, Delta Groove Music, http://www.themannishboys.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Coldest Man I Ever Knew”, Big James And The Chicago Playboys, The Big Payback, Blind Pig Records, http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Dark Was The Night-Cold Was The Ground”, Rickie Lee Jones, God Don’t Never Change The Songs Of Blind Willie Johnson (various artists). Alligator Records, http://www.rickieleejones.com http://www.alligator.com

“Sho Is Cold”, Chuck E. Weiss, 23rd And Stout, Cooking Vinyl, http://www.chuckeweiss.com http://www.cookingvinyl.com

“Cold Outdoors”, Tail Dragger And Bob Corritore, Longtime Friends In The Blues, Delta Groove Music, http://www.taildraggerbluesband.com http://www.bobcorritore.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Cold Outside”, Markey Blue, The Blues Are Knockin’, SoulOsound Records, http://www.markeyblue.com

“Come In From The Cold”, Marc Broussard, S.O.S. Save Our Soul, Vanguard Records, http://www.marcbroussard.com http://www.vanguardrecords.com

“He’s On Holiday In His Mind”, Christmas Jug Band, Tree-Side Hoot, Globe Records, http://www.christmasjugband.com http://www.globerecords.com

“Baby, It’s Cold Outside”, Carolyn Wonderland And Guy Forsyth, Fireside Songs For The Soul, Bismeaux Records, http://www.carolynwonderland.com http://www.guyforsyth.com http://www.bismeauxrecords.bandcamp.com

“Winter Weather”, Maria Muldaur, A Woman Alone With The Blues Remembering Peggy Lee, Telarc Records, http://www.mariamuldaur.com

“I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm”, The Mighty Kings, The Christmas Album, R-Jay Records

“Good Times Are Coming”, Eddy ‘The Chief’ Clearwater, Rock ‘N’ Roll City, Bullseye Blues And Jazz, http://www.eddyclearwater.com

“I Can’t Wait For Christmas”, Mindi Abair And The Boneshakers, All I Got For Christmas Is The Blues, Pretty Good For A Girl Records, http://www.mindiabair.com http://www.prettygoodforagirl.net

“Santana Claus”, Tom Principato, Not One Word, Powerhouse Records, http://www.tomprincipato.com http://www.powerhouserecords.com

Art Hooker was born in Wisconsin and trained on tuba at Hortonville Union High School and Lawrence Conservatory. As a self-taught flutist he traveled throughout the western U.S. as a busker. He studied radio production technology at Mount Hood Community College in Oregon. He also ad libbed flute music beds for a locally produced poetry program on public radio. He currently plays tenor saxophone, flute, rhythm guitar, percussive devices and vocals. He has performed with the Siegal/Schwall Blues Band, Seafood Mama (later known as Quarterflash), Sweet Betty and Nathaniel Mayer, as a solo artist and as a member of the bands King Rat, The Bushwhackers, FM Band, Two Flat Blues Band, Mumblin’ Eddy, Art Hooker, Hot Tomato, and the Big Jones Blues Band. He has opened for John Lee Hooker, James Cotton, Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, Ben E. King, Luther ‘Guitar Jr.’ Johnson, Marshall Tucker, The Guess Who and Chris Duarte.